• Nestle Cereals Nestle Cereals
Gluten-free breakfast with Nestlé GoFree Rice Pops and fruit in a bowl

Gluten free


With more and more people being diagnosed with an intolerance to gluten, or choosing to avoid it for lifestyle reasons, here we answer some of the frequently asked questions around gluten. From ‘what is it?’ to ‘what can I eat?’ scroll through for more information.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a protein present in cereal grains. It is found in wheat, rye and barley and is responsible for the elastic texture of dough.

Nestlé GoFree Corn Flakes close up with cereal box behind it

What is Coeliac Disease?

Coeliac disease (pronounced see-liac) is a lifelong disease, caused by the immune system reacting to gluten.

It affects one in 100 people, but only about a quarter of will have actually been diagnosed. There are nearly half a million people in the UK who have the disease without knowing it.

When someone with coeliac disease eats gluten, their immune system reacts by damaging the lining of the small intestine.

Symptoms of coeliac disease can range from mild to severe and may include bloating, diarrhoea, nausea, wind, constipation, tiredness, headaches, mouth ulcers, sudden or unexpected weight loss, hair loss and anaemia.

It is possible to have a gluten intolerance or gluten allergy but not suffer from the auto-immune reaction that is coeliac disease.


What can I eat on a gluten-free Diet?

Those that are living a gluten free diet can eat plenty of grains including:

  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Chestnut
  • Corn
  • Flax/linseed
  • Hemp
  • Hops
  • Maize
  • Mustard
  • Polenta
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sago
  • Soya
  • Tapioca
  • Urd/urid/urad flour.

Grains that need to be checked are Oat. It is possible to get gluten-free oats but they can often be contaminated by other gluten-containing grains during harvesting or storage so always double check.

On the gluten-free diet you can eat any naturally gluten-free foods too, such as:

  • meat
  • fish
  • fruit and vegetables
  • rice
  • potatoes
  • lentils, beans and pulses.

These foods are likely to be gluten-free. However always check the label of packaged goods to identify their gluten-free status

Nestlé GoFree Corn Flakes and GoFree Rice Pops in bowls on a breakfast table

What foods are not gluten-free?

  • Barley (including products that contain malted barley such as malted drinks, beers, ales, lagers and stouts)
  • Bulgar wheat
  • Couscous
  • Durum wheat
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer (also known as faro)
  • Khorasan wheat (commercially known as Kamut®)
  • Pearl barley
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat



You can find our gluten-free cereals in the following supermarkets:

  • You will find us in the FreeFrom aisle in Tesco, Asda and Morrisons
  • In Sainsbury’s and Waitrose you’ll find us in the main cereal aisle
  • You can also find us online at mySupermarket.com or Ocado.com.

(All retail prices and aisle location are at the sole discretion of the retailer.)


Is the NESTLÉ GOFREE range suitable for vegetarians?

Yes, all three products in the range are suitable for vegetarians.


Is the GOFREE range suitable for vegans?

GOFREE Cornflakes and GOFREE Rice Pops are suitable for vegans.

Are they Kosher?

All of our GOFREE cereals are suitable for those following a gluten-free Kosher diet.


Are they approved by Coeliac UK?

All thrree products are approved by Coeliac UK and bear the cross grain logo.

Nestlé GoFree Corn flakes in a bowl spread out on a placemat
GoFree Corn Flakes in a bowl

Nestlé GoFree Logo

Cereal like any other, just gluten-free

Nestlé GoFree Cereals, all the delicious taste, just without the gluten. With three different flavours, Corn Flakes, Honey Flakes and Rice Pops

    cereal brands& Products


    We've tried to answer as many of your questions as possible. You can search them all here:


    Do Nestlé products in emerging countries have more salt than products in developed/developing countries?
    For the last 15 years we’ve been working to reduce the sodium (which is the major component of salt) in our breakfast cereals across the world, because we want to keep on making them more nutritious. Achieving consistency on all products, in all countries, takes time - so some may have more sodium than others. Our aim is for all our cereals – globally – to have the same reduced levels of sodium, with a target of less than 135mg per serving in all our children’s products.
    What are the health and nutritional benefits of Nestlé Gluten Free Corn Flakes?

    As well as being a healthy choice for people who want to reduce the amount of gluten in their diet, or have coeliac disease or a gluten intolerance, Gluten Free Corn Flakes are fortified with B-vitamins, folic acid and iron

    How can I find foods made with whole grain?
    Two things to remember: • Look for food labels where the word 'whole' appears in front of the name of the grain, like “whole wheat” or “wholemeal bread”. • For foods with more than one ingredient, make sure whole grain is listed towards the top of the ingredients list. The further up the list it is, the more whole grain has been used in the recipe. And look out for the percentage of whole grain. You should find this in the ingredients list too. It’s easy to know if a Nestlé breakfast cereal is made with whole grain: just look out for the Green Banner and whole grain tick on top of the box.
    I’ve heard a low GI diet can help me lose weight. Is this true?
    It’s too early to say. The science in this area is still emerging. There is evidence that low GI foods take longer to digest and help you feel satisfied for longer, but none that you’ll eat fewer calories at the next meal.
    Why does Nestlé label vegetable oil?
    Because it’s industry practice to label seasonal oils (oils that aren’t consistently available across the year). In Europe it’s now mandatory to detail the types of vegetable oils used in a food product. So it’s no longer permitted to use the term “vegetable oil” on a label.
    SHOW ALL FAQsPress to see all FAQs

    We'd love to hear your comments about Nestlé cereals, so please let us know what you think, we always appreciate hearing from you.


    Return Address

    If you are unhappy with your purchase, please return it to:


    Consumer Services

    Consumer Service

    Call our Consumer Services careline free on:

    00800 0789 0789

    Phone lines are open 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday.



    You can now also contact us via Twitter: