What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein present in cereal grains. It is found in wheat, rye and barley and is responsible for the elastic texture of dough. However, not all of us digest gluten in the same way. Some people can consume gluten products without noticing anything unusual, while others experience side effects and are switching over to gluten-free diets.
What are gluten-free diets?
Gluten-free diets are eating plans that exclude gluten products completely. This is especially recommended for people who can’t digest gluten properly due to gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. But sometimes people will also make this dietary choice without suffering from an underlying condition. They just enjoy a gluten-free lifestyle.
What is coeliac disease?
Coeliac disease refers to an auto immune condition that triggers a specific reaction whenever gluten is ingested which is damaging to the lining of the small intestine. Symptoms of coeliac disease can range from mild to severe and may include bloating, diarrhoea, nausea, wind, constipation, tiredness, headaches, mouth ulcers, sudden or unexpected weight loss, hair loss and anaemia.
What cereals are gluten-free?
What can I eat on a gluten-free Diet?
Those that are living a gluten free diet can eat plenty of grains including:
- Urd/urid/urad flour.
Grains that need to be checked are Oat. It is possible to get gluten-free oats but they can often be contaminated by other gluten-containing grains during harvesting or storage so always double check.
What foods are gluten-free?
On the gluten-free diet you can eat any naturally gluten-free foods too, such as:
- fruit and vegetables
- lentils, beans and pulses.
These foods are likely to be gluten-free. However always check the label of packaged goods to identify their gluten-free status
What foods are not gluten-free?
- Barley (including products that contain malted barley such as malted drinks, beers, ales, lagers and stouts)
- Bulgar wheat
- Durum wheat
- Emmer (also known as faro)
- Khorasan wheat (commercially known as Kamut®)
- Pearl barley
Gluten-free breakfast cereals
Breakfast cereals come in all sorts of gluten-free combinations. So, if you’re looking for gluten-free grains you can’t wait to wake up to, here are a few delicious ways to start the day:
GOFREE Rice Pops
The crispy puffs of rice in our GOFREE Rice Pops and your favourite milk drink make the perfect combination. They taste amazing, are easy to prepare, plus our breakfast cereals are fortified with iron and B vitamins. You’ll have a great breakfast in seconds.
GOFREE Corn Flakes
These golden corn flakes are ready to make your mornings delightful in just a few spoonfuls. Our carefully-selected ingredients contain no gluten, so if you need inspiration for a simple, but delicious gluten-free breakfast, give GOFREE Corn Flake a try.
GOFREE Coco Rice
Have a glorious chocolate-flavoured breakfast with our GOFREE Coco Rice cereals. We combined the irresistible cocoa taste with our crispy rice puffs for a wonderful gluten-free breakfast. A morning meal that tastes like a treat.
GOFREE Honey Flakes
Crispy corn flakes mixed with a little bit of honey, perfect for pouring milk over and enjoying as you start off the day. If you’re looking for delicious gluten-free breakfast cereals to cheer up your morning, give our Honey Flakes a go.
Nestlé GOFREE Gluten-Free Cereals: Your Top Questions Answered
Where will I find NESTLÉ GOFREE CEREALS?
You can find our gluten-free cereals in the following supermarkets:
- You will find us in the FreeFrom aisle in Tesco, Asda and Morrisons
- In Sainsbury’s and Waitrose you’ll find us in the main cereal aisle
- You can also find us online at mySupermarket.com or Ocado.com.
(All retail prices and aisle location are at the sole discretion of the retailer.)
Is the NESTLÉ GOFREE range suitable for vegetarians?
Yes, all three products in the range are suitable for vegetarians.
Is the GOFREE range suitable for vegans?
GOFREE Cornflakes and GOFREE Rice Pops are suitable for vegans.
Are they Kosher?
All of our GOFREE cereals are suitable for those following a gluten-free Kosher diet.
Are they approved by Coeliac UK?
All thre products are approved by Coeliac UK and bear the cross grain logo.
Don’t forget to check out our amazing gluten-free recipes ideas for delightful meals you can make with simple ingredients, including our grain-free cereals.
- WRITE US
- IN PERSON
For the last 15 years we’ve been working to reduce the sodium (which is the major component of salt) in our breakfast cereals across the world, because we want to keep on making them more nutritious. Achieving consistency on all products, in all countries, takes time - so some may have more sodium than others. Our aim is for all our cereals – globally – to have the same reduced levels of sodium, with a target of less than 135mg per serving in all our children’s products.
As well as being a healthy choice for people who want to reduce the amount of gluten in their diet, or have coeliac disease or a gluten intolerance, Gluten Free Corn Flakes are fortified with B-vitamins, folic acid and iron
Two things to remember: • Look for food labels where the word 'whole' appears in front of the name of the grain, like “whole wheat” or “wholemeal bread”. • For foods with more than one ingredient, make sure whole grain is listed towards the top of the ingredients list. The further up the list it is, the more whole grain has been used in the recipe. And look out for the percentage of whole grain. You should find this in the ingredients list too.
It’s too early to say. The science in this area is still emerging. There is evidence that low GI foods take longer to digest and help you feel satisfied for longer, but none that you’ll eat fewer calories at the next meal.
Because it’s industry practice to label seasonal oils (oils that aren’t consistently available across the year). In Europe it’s now mandatory to detail the types of vegetable oils used in a food product. So it’s no longer permitted to use the term “vegetable oil” on a label.