spoons of rice

    Gluten Free

    Revealed: Are White and Wholegrain Rice Gluten Free?

    Rice has a permanent spot in our pantries and there are plenty of good reasons why. It grows on all continents (except Antarctica) and is endlessly versatile. Rice is at home in our favourite dishes, from stir fries to stuffed peppers and delicious casseroles. This humble grain has turned many of us into fans, but if you’re steering away from gluten-containing ingredients, you might be wondering whether or not you can join the club too.

    We’ve got you covered! In this article we’re exploring if rice is gluten free and what are some of the best ways to enjoy it. Keep reading to find out.

     

    Is rice gluten free?

    In its natural form, rice is gluten free. So, if your eating plan excludes gluten-containing products, we’ve got good news. You can go ahead and dig into rice salads, egg-fried rice dishes or your favourite rice puddings, provided there are no other ingredients in the mix that contain gluten. The main star on the plate, the rice itself, is usually gluten free. 

    We mentioned ‘usually’ because although there is no gluten in rice, this grain can end up in the company of other grains that do contain gluten. Cross-contact is always a possibility. Just think of the many steps this little grain has to go through as it’s being shipped from field all the way to its final destination, our dinner tables. So, make sure you read the label carefully whenever you buy rice. And if you’re dining out and want to enjoy a nice rice dish, ask a member of staff if the dish contains gluten – they may be able to simplify the dish to remove any gluten-containing ingredients - and reducing the chances of gluten making an appearance in your meal by accident.

     

    Is white rice gluten free?

    Yes, white rice is gluten free in its natural form. Luckily, it’s also one of those ingredients you almost certainly always keep in your pantry, ready to be a satisfying base for your delicious meals. If you’re on a gluten-free diet, there are many white rice recipes to try, from the simple instant pot rice to restaurant-worthy culinary adventures. White rice can do it all!

     

    Is brown rice gluten free?

    Yes, brown rice or wholegrain rice is gluten free. This is great news as whole grains contain more nutrients than grains that have been refined. Whole grains keep the entire seed of the plant, with its nutritious content the same as when it was growing in the fields. However, you should check the label when buying brown rice or any type of rice to make sure it has been produced in a gluten-free environment. Discover our top tips for switching to whole grain in our handy article.

     

    Is there any type of rice that should be avoided while on gluten-free diets?

    All types of rice are gluten free in their natural form. However, sometimes rice is present in different grain mixes or dishes that might contain gluten. Examine the product label or double check with manufacturers, especially if they offer both gluten-friendly and gluten-free versions of the same food. Cross contamination can easily happen if they use the same equipment or shipping areas.

     

    Our top 3 gluten-free rice breakfast ideas for a delicious start to your day

    Because breakfast is our favourite meal of the day, here are a few wonderful gluten-free ways to start off your morning. Of course, we ‘ve made rice the main star!

    GOFREE Rice Pops

    Wake up in the morning to a delicious bowl of GOFREE Rice Pops. Our cereals have been specially created based on a gluten-free formula, so all breakfast cereal lovers can enjoy their awesome flavour, no matter whether they can eat gluten or have to steer away from it. Every bowl has 6 vitamins and minerals, a delicious taste and absolutely no gluten. So, give these crispy puffs of rice a go for your next breakfast.

    GOFREE Coco Rice

    Watch the milk go chocolatey with our GOFREE Coco Rice breakfast cereal. Rice is still the main ingredient, but we’ve added a chocolatey twist for those mornings when you need a bit of extra oomph of taste to start the day. Don’t worry, our new take on rice pops is still a strictly gluten-free adventure, so you can thoroughly enjoy it if you’re avoiding gluten.

    Gluten-Free Chilli Rice Pop Pancakes

    Just because you are on a gluten-free diet, it doesn’t mean you have to give up one of the most delicious culinary concoctions ever – pancakes. We don’t know what we love more: their delightful taste or how easy they can be prepared. In our version, these gluten-free chilli rice pop pancakes are ready in 15 minutes and make the ultimate savoury meal everyone is bound to enjoy, whether they love gluten or keep their distance.

    Now that you know rice is gluten free and you’ve got a few ideas for gluten-free meals that give this little grain its much deserved spotlight, get your pantry topped up with rice, white or brown, and our GOFREE Rice Pops for an always-available supply of gluten-free ingredients and dishes.

    Next, discover more about gluten-free breakfast cereals with our handy list of what to eat and what to skip.
     

    uk_nbc_gofreebrand_stagevisual_001

    uk_nbc_gofreegf_logo_001

    Cereal like any other, just gluten-free

    Nestlé GoFree Cereals, all the delicious taste, just without the gluten. With three different flavours, Corn Flakes, Honey Flakes and Rice Pops
    Read moreCereal like any other, just gluten-free

    Let'sTalk

    Do Nestlé products in emerging countries have more salt than products in developed/developing countries?

    For the last 15 years we’ve been working to reduce the sodium (which is the major component of salt) in our breakfast cereals across the world, because we want to keep on making them more nutritious. Achieving consistency on all products, in all countries, takes time - so some may have more sodium than others. Our aim is for all our cereals – globally – to have the same reduced levels of sodium, with a target of less than 135mg per serving in all our children’s products.

    What are the health and nutritional benefits of Nestlé Gluten Free Corn Flakes?

    As well as being a healthy choice for people who want to reduce the amount of gluten in their diet, or have coeliac disease or a gluten intolerance, Gluten Free Corn Flakes are fortified with B-vitamins, folic acid and iron

    How can I find foods made with whole grain?

    Two things to remember: • Look for food labels where the word 'whole' appears in front of the name of the grain, like “whole wheat” or “wholemeal bread”. • For foods with more than one ingredient, make sure whole grain is listed towards the top of the ingredients list. The further up the list it is, the more whole grain has been used in the recipe. And look out for the percentage of whole grain. You should find this in the ingredients list too.

    Why does Nestlé label vegetable oil?

    Because it’s industry practice to label seasonal oils (oils that aren’t consistently available across the year). In Europe it’s now mandatory to detail the types of vegetable oils used in a food product. So it’s no longer permitted to use the term “vegetable oil” on a label.