As diets change and more is learnt about food intolerance, it is our job at Nestlé Breakfast Cereals to provide for those of you who want to have something different on your breakfast table. If you have to go gluten-free, we now have some great gluten-free cereal options for you.
What is gluten?
However, not all of us digest gluten in the same way. Most people can consume gluten products without noticing anything unusual, while others may experience side effects and are switching over to gluten-free diets.
What Is Gluten Intolerance?
Gluten intolerance refers to the entire category of gluten issues, including coeliac disease and non-coeliac gluten sensitivity. Symptoms vary from person to person and can include bloating, diarrhoea, nausea, vomiting, fatigue and stomach pain. Coeliac disease is the most severe form of gluten intolerance.
People with this autoimmune disorder cannot eat any gluten at all because the symptoms are so severe. But there are some people who are simply sensitive to gluten, and just feel better in themselves when they avoid it or reduce it in their diet.
We are excited to announce we’ve got new partners helping us spread the word about gluten-free diets. Keep reading to find out more!
What are gluten-free diets?
Gluten-free diets are eating plans that exclude gluten products completely. This is especially recommended for people who can’t digest gluten properly due to gluten sensitivity or coeliac disease. But sometimes people will also make this dietary choice without suffering from an underlying condition. They just enjoy a gluten-free lifestyle.
What is coeliac disease?
Coeliac disease (pronounced see-liac) refers to an auto immune condition that triggers a specific reaction whenever gluten is ingested which is damaging to the lining of the small intestine. It affects one in 100 people in most populations, but only about a quarter of them have actually been diagnosed.
Symptoms of coeliac disease can range from mild to severe and may include bloating, diarrhoea, nausea, wind, constipation, tiredness, headaches, mouth ulcers, sudden or unexpected weight loss, hair loss and anaemia.
GO FREE® is teaming up with Coeliac UK to raise awareness of coeliac disease
From joint competitions and recipes, this year we’ll be partnering on plenty of things you can get involved in! Plus, keep an eye out for their logo on our GO FREE® cereal packs.
Want to stay up to date with what we’re getting up to? Bookmark this webpage and follow us on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter.
Who are Coeliac UK and why are we partnering?
Coeliac UK is the only charity for people who need to live gluten-free in the UK. Day in, and day out, their experts are working to make life better for people with coeliac disease and other gluten-related conditions.
They strive for better gluten-free food in more places, improved diagnosis and healthcare provision, and provide trustworthy, evidence-based advice for their gluten-free community. They’re also the largest charity funder of coeliac disease research in the UK – making sure we can one day find the answers to coeliac disease and gluten intolerance.
As an independent organisation with no government funding, they’re the main organisation in the UK fighting for the gluten-free community. You can help them continue this vital work by making a donation on the Coeliac UK website.
What cereals are gluten-free?
You may be wondering exactly which cereal is gluten free?
Those that are living a gluten-free diet can eat plenty of grains including:
- Urd/urid/urad flour.
A grain that needs to be checked is Oat. Oats are naturally gluten-free, but they can often be contaminated by other gluten-containing grains during the harvesting, storage or production process so always double-check.
What foods are gluten-free?
On the gluten-free diet, you can eat any naturally gluten-free foods too, such as:
- fruit and vegetables
- lentils, beans and pulses.
These foods are likely to be gluten-free. However, always check the label of packaged goods to identify their gluten-free status
What foods are not gluten-free?
- Barley (including products that contain malted barley such as malted drinks, beers, ales, lagers and stouts)
- Bulgar wheat
- Durum wheat
- Emmer (also known as faro)
- Khorasan wheat (commercially known as Kamut®)
- Pearl barley
How GO FREE® can help
With our gluten-free GO FREE® breakfast cereal range, those who need to live without gluten can enjoy a delicious breakfast – gluten-free and fortified with vitamins and iron. Whether it’s vegan and gluten-free Rice Pops or Corn Flakes, or it’s our gluten-free Honey Flakes, there’s something for everyone.
Gluten-free breakfast cereals
Our NESTLÉ GO FREE® Corn Flakes come in traditional and honey flavours, and the Rice Pops are also available in Coco.
They're so tasty the whole family can join in if they want to. They are also fortified with vitamins and minerals to give you essential nutrients in every bowlful.
GO FREE® Rice Pops
The crispy puffs of rice in our GO FREE® Rice Pops and your favourite milk drink make the perfect combination. They taste amazing and are easy to prepare, plus our breakfast cereals are fortified with iron and B vitamins. You’ll have a great breakfast in seconds.
GO FREE® Corn Flakes
These golden cornflakes are ready to make your mornings delightful in just a few spoonfuls. Our carefully-selected ingredients contain no gluten, so if you need inspiration for a simple, but delicious gluten-free breakfast, give GO FREE® Corn Flakes a try.
GO FREE® Honey Flakes
Crispy cornflakes mixed with a little bit of honey, perfect for pouring milk over and enjoying as you start off the day. If you’re looking for delicious gluten-free breakfast cereals to cheer up your morning, give our GO FREE® Honey Nut Flakes a go.
WHERE WILL I FIND GLUTEN-FREE CEREALS?
Nestlé GO FREE® Gluten-Free Cereals: Your Top Questions Answered
Are the NESTLÉ GO FREE® cereals range suitable for vegetarians?
Yes, all three products in the range are suitable for vegetarians.
Is the GO FREE® range suitable for vegans?
GO FREE® Cornflakes and GO FREE® Rice Pops are suitable for vegans.
Are GO FREE® cereals Kosher?
All of our GO FREE® cereals are suitable for those following a gluten-free Kosher diet.
Are they approved by Coeliac UK?
All three products are approved by Coeliac UK and bear the Crossed Grain Trademark.
Don’t forget to check out our amazing gluten-free recipes ideas for delightful meals you can make with simple ingredients, including our grain-free cereals.